Biography and History

Enrique Fierro was born in Montevideo (Uruguay) in 1941. He studied Literature, taught literary theory, and published several collections of poems, translations, and books of literary criticism before leaving Uruguay due to political circumstances. Between 1974 and 1984 Fierro lived in exile in Mexico with his wife, Ida Vitale, working as professor of the Universidad Autónoma de México (UNAM). During this time, he became active in the literary life of Mexico, and had a close relationship to Octavio Paz and Vuelta the literary periodical that Paz founded and directed. In 1985 he returned to Uruguay as Director of the Biblioteca Nacional de Uruguay, post that he held until 1989 when he moved to the United States to work as professor of Latin American poetry at the University of Texas at Austin. Fierro has been the recipient of several awards, among them the Premio Nacional de Poesía de Uruguay, the Premio Municipal de Poesía de Montevideo, and the Premio de Traducción del Círculo de la Crítica Teatral de Uruguay. He has been a member of the editorial board of Maldoror and Poética in Uruguay, Vuelta, Paréntesis, and Cuadernos Americanos in Mexico, El pez y la serpiente in Nicaragua, and Río de la Plata in France.

Major published works:

De la invención (Montevideo, 1964)

Entonces jueves (Montevideo, 1972)

Mutaciones I (Montevideo, 1972)

Impedimenta (Montevideo, 1973)

Capítulo Aparte (Montevideo, 1974)

Breve suma (Mexico, 1976)

½ (Mexico, 1977)

Textos/pretextos (Mexico, 1978)

Las oscuras versiones (Mexico, 1980)

Ver para creer, causa perdida, estaba escrito: para una crítica de la razón poética (Mexico, 1980)

Contrahierba (Mexico, 1982)

Fuera de lugar (Mexico, 1982)

La entonces música (Mexico, 1983)

Ristra (Mexico, 1984)

Quiero ver una vaca (Montevideo, 1989)

Homenajes (Montevideo, 1991)

Travestía (Montevideo, 1992)

Paz por dos (Mexico, 1994)

Marcas y señales (Montevideo, 1996)

La savia duda (Montevideo, 1996)

Margen (Mexico, 1997)

Cuerpo extraño (Montevideo, 1997)

Hechos, deshechos (Montevideo, 1997)

Contra la distancia (Montevideo, 1997)

Selección natural (Montevideo, 1999)

Escrito en México (Mexico, 1999)

Ida Vitale was born in Montevideo (Uruguay) in 1923. She has degrees in Law and Humanities and was a student of José Bergamín. When her first book La luz de esta memoria appeared in 1949, she became one of the central literary figures of the group of “Generación del 45.” From 1950 to 1970, she published several poetry collections, critical essays, and translations of poetry, theater, and prose, and was a regular contributor of important journals in Uruguay and Latin America. Between 1974 and 1984 she lived in exile in Mexico, where she frequently contributed to Excelsior, El sol de México, Unomasuno, Plural, and Vuelta. She, and her husband Enrique Fierro, had a close relationship to Octavio Paz and all the literary and artistic circle of Mexico City. She has worked extensively as translator of poetry and literature in different languages: she has translated works by Boris Vian, Molière, Simone de Beauvoir, Benamin Péret, and Jules Supervielle from French; by M. Bontempelli, Luigi Pirandello, and Italo Calvino from Italian; and by Nélida Piñón from Portuguese, among many others. Her work has received many awards: “Premio Nacional de Poesía,”, “Premio Municipal de Poesía,” and several awards for her translations of theater works.

Major published works:

La luz de esta memoria (Montevideo, 1949)

Palabra dada (Montevideo, 1953)

Cada uno en su noche (Montevideo, 1960)

Oidor andante (Montevideo, 1972)

Fieles (Mexico, 1976)

Jardín de sílice (Caracas, 1980)

Entresaca (Mexico, 1984)

Sueños de la constancia (Mexico, 1988)

Obra Poética I (Montevideo, 1992)

Serie del sinsonte (Montevideo, 1993)

Paz por dos (Mexico, 1994)

Jardines imaginarios (Mexico, 1996)

Varia empresa (Caracas, 1998)

Procura de lo imposible (Mexico, 1998)

Léxico de afinidades (Mexico, 1994)

Donde vuela el camaleón (Montevideo, 1996)

Un invierno equivocado (Mexico, 1999)

El ABC de Byobu (Madrid, 2005)

Trema (Valencia, 2005)

Source: From the finding aid for C1249