Contents and Arrangement

Scribner, Charles, Class of 1840, 1885

1 volume

Collection Overview

Collection Description & Creator Information


The collection consists of approximately 400 autographs of Princetonians collected by Moore (Princeton Class of 1883). Among those represented with signed autograph letters and documents are New Jersey jurists, congressmen, and governors, and presidents of Princeton. Included are Leon Abbett, Jonathan Belcher, William Worth Belknap, Nicholas Biddle, Elias Boudinot, William Allen Butler, Jr., Varnum Lansing Collins, George Mifflin Dallas, Richard Stockton Field, Parke Godwin, Arnold Guyot, Joseph Henry, John Grier Hibben, Lawrence Hutton, Charles Godfrey Leland, Brockholst Livingston, William Livingston, John Maclean, James McCosh, Tapping Reeve, David Rittenhouse, Benjamin Rush (1745-1813), Richard Rush, Charles Scribner, Richard Stockton, Andrew Fleming West, and Woodrow Wilson.

Collection History

Access & Use

Access Restrictions:

Collection is open for research use.

Conditions for Reproduction and Use:

Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. No further photoduplication of copies of material in the collection can be made when Princeton University Library does not own the original. Inquiries regarding publishing material from the collection should be directed to RBSC Public Services staff through the Ask Us! form. The library has no information on the status of literary rights in the collection and researchers are responsible for determining any questions of copyright.

Credit this material:

Scribner, Charles, Class of 1840; Russell W. Moore Autograph Collection of Princetonians, C0017, Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184

Find More