Contents and Arrangement

Clark, Horace Francis (1815-1873), 1859 February 21

1 folder

Collection Overview

Collection Description & Creator Information


The collection consists primarily of two parts: 1) letters and documents from the Revolutionary War period (1778-1780), most of which are addressed to or by Moore Furman, deputy quartermaster general for New Jersey at that time, or William Livingston, the New Jersey governor; 2) autograph letters by pre-Civil War (1857-1859) politicians and congressmen to A. J. Smith, autograph collector. Historical figures represented in the first group include Elias Boudinot, Nathanael Greene, John Hancock, Samuel Huntington, Henry Lee, Robert Morris, Benjamin Rush, and George Washington; included in the second are Schuyler Colfax, Jefferson Davis, Millard Fillmore, Samuel Houston, Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, John Tyler, and Martin Van Buren. In addition, there is a folder of autographs of congressmen (1830-1870).

Collection History

Archival Appraisal Information:

No appraisal information is available.

Access & Use

Access Restrictions:

The collection is open for research.

Conditions for Reproduction and Use:

Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. No further photoduplication of copies of material in the collection can be made when Princeton University Library does not own the original. Inquiries regarding publishing material from the collection should be directed to RBSC Public Services staff through the Ask Us! form. The library has no information on the status of literary rights in the collection and researchers are responsible for determining any questions of copyright.

Credit this material:

Clark, Horace Francis (1815-1873); E. Stanley Atkinson Autograph Collection, C0034, Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184
Storage Note:
Firestone Library (mss): Box 1

Find More