Contents and Arrangement

Naughty Anthony, Act III (folder 2), 35 pp., 1899

1 folder

Collection Overview

Collection Description & Creator Information


The collection consists of the manuscript, marked for typesetting, of Belasco's The Heart of Maryland and Other Plays (1941), edited by Glenn Hughes and George Savage, as volume 18 in its series America's Lost Plays. Of the five plays selected by the editors, four have been copied from manuscripts held in the Theatre Collection of the New York Public Library: La Belle Russe (1881); The Girl I Left Behind Me (co-authored by Franklin Fyles, 1893); The Heart of Maryland (1895); and Naughty Anthony (1899). The fifth, The Stranglers of Paris (1881), is credited by the editors as having been taken from a pirated edition of the play held by the Division of Drama Library, University of Washington.

Collection History

Archival Appraisal Information:

No appraisal information is available.

Access & Use

Access Restrictions:

The collection is open for research.

Conditions for Reproduction and Use:

Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. No further photoduplication of copies of material in the collection can be made when Princeton University Library does not own the original. Inquiries regarding publishing material from the collection should be directed to RBSC Public Services staff through the Ask Us! form. The library has no information on the status of literary rights in the collection and researchers are responsible for determining any questions of copyright.

Credit this material:

Naughty Anthony, Act III (folder 2), 35 pp.; The Heart of Maryland and Other Plays, by David Belasco, C0131, Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184