Contents and Arrangement

Second violin parts in manuscript for 30 pieces from Handelian operas, 1720-1723

1 item

Collection Overview

Collection Description & Creator Information

Scope and Contents

Probably written by a Smith copyist, S8. Titles include: "Deh! fuggi," "L'ingrato non amar," "Si che ti renderai" and "Overture" from Radamisto; "Pupille s'degnose," "Lungo pensar," and "Ma come amar" from Muzio Scaevola; "Dimmi o' speme," "Seri solvi," and "Vivere per penare" from Floridante; "Non credo," "Con un vezzo," and "Amante stravagante" from Flavius; "Gode l'alma," "Pensa adamare," "Quanto dolci," "Notte cara," "D'ell onda," "A teneri affetti," "Sio dir potessi," "Ah tu no sai," "Trema tiranno," "Affanni del pensier," "Benche me sia," and "Spera ti," "Alla fama," "La speranza," "Le profonde," and "Overture" from Otho; "Da ti parto," "Sirti scogli," and "Rompo di ucco" from Flavius; and "Sweet Echo" from Arne's Comus.


Not arranged according to any arrangement scheme.

Collection History


No appraisal information is available.

Processing Information

This collection was processed by Margaret Sherry Rich and Teresa T. Basler in 2002. New material was added to the finding aid by John Delaney in 2005, 2011, and 2013, and by Kelly Bolding in 2019.

During 2022, restrictions on Series I, Manuscripts of Handel's Works and Works by Contemporary Composers, were lifted as part of a restrictions review project.

Access & Use

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Single copies may be made for research purposes. To cite or publish quotations that fall within Fair Use, as defined under U. S. Copyright Law, no permission is required. For instances beyond Fair Use, it is the responsibility of the researcher to determine whether any permissions related to copyright, privacy, publicity, or any other rights are necessary for their intended use of the Library's materials, and to obtain all required permissions from any existing rights holders, if they have not already done so. Princeton University Library's Special Collections does not charge any permission or use fees for the publication of images of materials from our collections, nor does it require researchers to obtain its permission for said use. The department does request that its collections be properly cited and images credited. More detailed information can be found on the Copyright, Credit and Citations Guidelines page on our website. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us through the Ask Us! form.

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements

For preservation reasons, original analog and digital media may not be read or played back in the reading room. Users may visually inspect physical media but may not remove it from its enclosure. All analog audiovisual media must be digitized to preservation-quality standards prior to use. Audiovisual digitization requests are processed by an approved third-party vendor. Please note, the transfer time required can be as little as several weeks to as long as several months and there may be financial costs associated with the process. Requests should be directed through the Ask Us Form.

Credit this material:

Second violin parts in manuscript for 30 pieces from Handelian operas; James S. Hall Collection of George Frideric Handel, C0640, Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184