Contents and Arrangement

Stravinsky to Seeger, 1964 November 5-9

1 folder

Collection Overview

Collection Description & Creator Information


The collection consists of correspondence and documents relating to the Princeton commission of Requiem Canticles by Stravinsky. Correspondents include Princeton University President Robert Goheen, Joseph Lynch, Augustus P. Mack, Jr., Ricardo A. Mesters, Armine T. Montapert, and Stanley Seeger. The orchestral score, dated 1966, was dedicated to the memory of Helen Buchanan Seeger. The documents include the original and drafts of the agreement between Princeton University and Stravinsky regarding the commission of the composition. Also included is an announcement of the first performance of the requiem by Stravinsky on October 8, 1966, at McCarter Theatre in Princeton, New Jersey, which was conducted by Stravinsky and Robert Craft.

Collection History

Archival Appraisal Information:

No appraisal information is available.

Access & Use

Access Restrictions:

Collection is open for research use.

Conditions for Reproduction and Use:

Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. No further photoduplication of copies of material in the collection can be made when Princeton University Library does not own the original. Inquiries regarding publishing material from the collection should be directed to RBSC Public Services staff through the Ask Us! form. The library has no information on the status of literary rights in the collection and researchers are responsible for determining any questions of copyright.

Credit this material:

Stravinsky to Seeger; Igor Stravinsky Collection, C1219, Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184
Storage Note:
Firestone Library (mss): Box 1