Contents and Arrangement Expanded View

Collection Overview

Arrufat, Antón, 1935-
Princeton University. Library. Special Collections
Antón Arrufat Papers
Manuscripts Division
Permanent URL:
1953-1991 (mostly 1960-1972)
1 box and 0.45 linear feet
Storage Note:
Firestone Library (mss): Box 1


The Antón Arrufat Papers consists of manuscripts of poems, short stories, novels, and criticism by Antón Arrufat, Virgilio Piñera, and Witold Gombrowicz; and correspondence of Antón Arrufat.

Collection Description & Creator Information


The Antón Arrufat Papers consists of writings by Antón Arrufat and others, and correspondence of Antón Arrufat. The collection includes poems by Arrufat, a notebook for the novel La caja está cerrada, poems and short stories by Virgilio Piñera, and a partial manuscript and correspondence related to a Spanish translation of Witold Gombrowicz's novel, Ferdydurke. Gombrowicz is a Polish writer who lived in Argentina for 25 years. The strength of the collection are the original writings of Arrufat, and his correspondence with Argentinian writers Julio Cortázar and José Bianco, Cuban writers Guillermo Cabrera Infante, Virgilio Piñera, Calvert Casey, and José Triana, and Mexican writers Juan Vicente Melo, Juan José Arreola, and José Emilio Pacheco.

Collection Creator Biography:

Antón Arrufat (b. 1935) is a Cuban dramatist, short story writer, novelist and poet. He has lived in worked in the U.S. and Europe; he currently resides in Cuba. He is well-known for his play, Siete contra Tebas (1968), a play which is based on the drama of the same name by the Greek dramatist Aeschylus. When Siete contra Tebas was first performed in Cuba, it caused a stir among Cubans because of its critical character of the Cuban Marxist-Leninist regime. His other theatrical works include Todos los domingos (1965), Teatro (1963), a collection of plays, and La tierra permanente (1987). Arrufat's published books of poetry include Repaso final (1963), Escrito en las puertas (1967) and La huella en la arena (1986). His fiction writing includes La caja está cerrada (novel, 1984), and Que haras después de mí? (short stories, 1988). He is the co-editor with Fausto Masó of a collection of short stories, Nuevos cuentistas cubanos (1961). Las pequenas cosas (1988) is a collection of nonfiction essays.

Collection History


The University purchased the collection from the author in 1993 .

Archival Appraisal Information:

No appraisal information is available.

Processing Information:

This collection was processed by Claire A. Johnston in 1995. Finding aid written by Claire A. Johnston in 1995.

Access & Use

Access Restrictions:

This collection is open for research.

Conditions for Reproduction and Use:

Single photocopies may be made for research purposes. No further photoduplication of copies of material in the collection can be made when Princeton University Library does not own the original. Inquiries regarding publishing material from the collection should be directed to RBSC Public Services staff through the Ask Us! form. The library has no information on the status of literary rights in the collection and researchers are responsible for determining any questions of copyright.

Credit this material:

Antón Arrufat Papers; Manuscripts Division, Department of Special Collections, Princeton University Library

Permanent URL:
Firestone Library
One Washington Road
Princeton, NJ 08544, USA
(609) 258-3184